| Main Page | Shadow Forums | Motorcycle Links | Shadowrider's Photo Gallery | Today's Posts | New Posts |



DO NOT POST NUDITY OR PORN OR IT WILL BE DELETED! Thank you.

  
Go Back   Shadowriders > Honda Shadow Discussion Forums > Shadow Spirit 750 Modifications
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Hand control wiring (with pics!)
Old 05-20-2011, 11:21 PM   #1
pyrplhaze
Shadow God
 
pyrplhaze is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,049
Hand control wiring (with pics!)

Since I'm such a nice guy, I figger I'll post a bit of a how-to since I have the chance.

I searched and searched multiple forums looking for a how-to with regards to moving the switches on the bars. I always thought it would clean up the look, but never had the balls to do it- figured since nobody else did that it must be too hard.

wrong like a mofo.

ordered some switches the other day, and they got here tonight. 2 normally open momentary pushbutton switches (start and horn), 1 on-off-on (low beam-off-hi beam), and 1 on-off

I don't have blinkers, so I didn't mess with those wires, but what follows is pics for the rest of it.

nothing is actually run where it's going to be permanently. Tonight was just hooking everything up so I could make sure it worked. I'll post pics of a finished product when they're done.

pic 1) headlight- white is low beam, blue is high beam, blue/white is ground.


From control wiring





pic 2) clutch switch and horn ****wiring like this allows the bike to start regardless of what the clutch is doing-it WILL start in gear with the clutch out, so be mindful of that if you decide to wire like this. Consider this my "cover my ass" disclaimer****


From control wiring
pic 3) blinker wiring. As explained above, you're on your own for this.


From control wiring





pic 4) yellow/red to black for a start button


From control wiring





pic 5) blue/white to black/red- you know how the headlight shuts off when you push start? the factory switch is designed to do that, probably to reduce the load on the battery while starting. Wiring like this just wires it constant "on" so it doesn't shut off when starting. I've got an off position in my headlight switch if I want that, and it's not that heavy of a load, especially considering the lack of any other draw on my electrical system


From control wiring





pic 6) green/black to black (well, one on each pole til the switch works how ya want it to) for kill switch


From control wiring





So, that's about it for this evening. I'm gonna try and finish up tomorrow sometime. It's supposed to rain all day, so I'll probably have the time. Will definitely post pics of a finished product when I've got one.




finished! So it wasn't too bad. Took my time doing everything, and it went with minimal hiccups.

headlight toggle is by the ignition mounted on the front of the left side cover. Kill switch is in the middle of the dash with horn on left and start on right. I like it. REALLY cleans up the bars.












From control wiring





I think next is internal cables. gonna start looking at internal throttle, then run clutch/thottle through the bars.

Last edited by pyrplhaze : 05-21-2011 at 03:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 07:52 AM   #2
jmatteis
Shadow God
 
jmatteis's Avatar
 
jmatteis is Offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 778
Great start, nice hi quality pics too, can't wait to see more...
Where were you thinking of mounting all the switches, on a panel somewhere on the side, or integrated into the side covers?
__________________

__________________________________________________ _____________
Do your part for the environment: "Save a tree... Eat a BEAVER!"
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 03:52 PM   #3
pyrplhaze
Shadow God
 
pyrplhaze is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,049
Don't thank me for the quality pics...wife's got a real nice camera that I'll use for stuff like this. Love it.

updated with finished pics.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 03:58 PM   #4
jmatteis
Shadow God
 
jmatteis's Avatar
 
jmatteis is Offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 778
THAT IS COOL! Very clean!
I would prefer the horn on the bars, just for reaction time, but still, very cool!
__________________

__________________________________________________ _____________
Do your part for the environment: "Save a tree... Eat a BEAVER!"
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 04:18 PM   #5
pyrplhaze
Shadow God
 
pyrplhaze is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,049
thanks man. was much easier than I thought it would be.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 04:22 PM   #6
jmatteis
Shadow God
 
jmatteis's Avatar
 
jmatteis is Offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southwestern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 778
I'm hoping to wire some toggle switches up for my lighting, got some nice small illuminated duckbill toggles cheap... thinking either side covers or dash as well...
When running wire extensions, did you solder and heat shrink them?
__________________

__________________________________________________ _____________
Do your part for the environment: "Save a tree... Eat a BEAVER!"
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 06:06 PM   #7
Dupo
Shadow God
 
Dupo's Avatar
 
Dupo is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Allentown, Pa
Posts: 749
Send a message via MSN to Dupo
VERY nice job on this. Not so sure i could do with the horn on the tank as well ... but love the look you got going on there!
__________________
_________________

Macro-Junkie - My new photo digital art gallery. Come check it out!! --------
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 06:46 PM   #8
pyrplhaze
Shadow God
 
pyrplhaze is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,049
www.allelectronics.com

cheap as shit. I got the switches here for $14 shipped. shipping was half the total cost.

Yes, I did solder and heat shrink/tape all connections. I also melted some hot glue over the connections to the pushbuttons switches to help keep mother nature out of there even better.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-21-2011, 10:36 PM   #9
OBGT
Shadow Master
 
OBGT's Avatar
 
OBGT is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 206
Looks good! I've been thinking bout doing this. Where did you get your throttle housing?
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-2011, 09:43 AM   #10
pyrplhaze
Shadow God
 
pyrplhaze is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,049
http://www.debrix.com/Dual-Throttle-...35-0254-vt.htm

it's set up for dual throttle cables, but the problem I ran into is that our cables have threading that is WAY bigger than harleys. I figured out which hole the "pull" cable would fit into, and took a 3/8" drill bit to it. It threads in there nicely now, but there's a bit too much play for my taste. kinda like the threads aren't really in there, and if it weren't for the cable being hooked onto the throttle sleeve, the cable may just work itself loose over time. I figure it's not too big of a deal for now, though. Don't get much time to ride anymore, anyhow. Most it's been ridden in the past 3 months is about a 10 mile ride through some backroads just to blow the crap outta the carbs.
  Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 AM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.