| Main Page | Shadow Forums | Motorcycle Links | Shadowrider's Photo Gallery | Today's Posts | New Posts |



DO NOT POST NUDITY OR PORN OR IT WILL BE DELETED! Thank you.

  
Go Back   Shadowriders > Honda Shadow Discussion Forums > Shadow Spirit 750 Modifications
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Cobra Tachometer Problem
Old 09-20-2016, 11:34 PM   #1
MadHopperShadow
Noob
 
MadHopperShadow is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Cobra Tachometer Problem

I have a 2006 shadow spirit 750.

When I purchased the bike it had the handlebar clamp mount cobra tach already installed.

It has worked perfectly for the last 2000 miles.

At about 2100 miles I noticed the tach would jump from 4000 rpms to 5000 rpms at full throttle but figured Id just keep an eye on it.

100 miles later the light in the tach has started pulsing , like a strobe light.

It pulses constantly with the key on, at all rpms.

Battery is fully charged.

I have no clue how to fix this problem.

Has anyone had this problem or heard of this before ?

And would anyone know how to remove the face from the tach so I can get to the light bulb on the inside?

Thanks for your time. And I will proceed to fuck off !
  Reply With Quote

Old 10-01-2016, 12:06 AM   #2
MadHopperShadow
Noob
 
MadHopperShadow is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3
Finally figured out the problem. One blown LED was making the other two strobe and one to not get connection from the way its wired on the circuit board.

Cobra said that the cobra II tach is sealed and cannot be opened. Not 100% correct.

I removed the tach from the housing and you have to pry open the beauty ring all the was around the back of the tach and the face pops off. Inside is has a circuit board with 4 Leds soldered into the circuit board. I used a led I had laying around and hooked it up on each location and found one faulty bulb location that was not getting power for some reason.

My "fix" I just clipped out all the LEDs and put the tach back together. Since I dont do alot of night riding It doesnt bother me. The tach works fine and No more strobing .
Being that the tach was made in 2006 it has had a good life and instead of shelling out 230 bucks for a new one I just used my high tech Mod

Works perfect. So moral of the story if you are having strobing issues and you are past your warranty you can clip the Leds with no ill effect.
  Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 PM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.