| Main Page | Shadow Forums | Motorcycle Links | Shadowrider's Photo Gallery | Today's Posts | New Posts |



DO NOT POST NUDITY OR PORN OR IT WILL BE DELETED! Thank you.

  
Go Back   Shadowriders > Main Discussions > Bike Discussion / Shop Talk
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Old 03-03-2011, 07:18 PM   #11
mcvierh
Debased Pseudo God
 
mcvierh's Avatar
 
mcvierh is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 7,749
Throttle slide drilling will work on just about any CV carb, but just as long as you don't drill to large of a hole......, .110-.125 is the prefered drill bit size.
__________________
"A sin of omission is a sin we should have commited but didn't."

<<< ostentatious isn't it!
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #12
mcvierh
Debased Pseudo God
 
mcvierh's Avatar
 
mcvierh is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 7,749
Max drill size is 1/8th" and thats pushing it........
__________________
"A sin of omission is a sin we should have commited but didn't."

<<< ostentatious isn't it!
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-2011, 07:49 PM   #13
toms03se
Shadow Rider
 
toms03se's Avatar
 
toms03se is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks man
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2011, 08:28 AM   #14
crimsonblooded
Shadow God
 
crimsonblooded's Avatar
 
crimsonblooded is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvierh
Max drill size is 1/8th" and thats pushing it........
roger that! thanks mcv
__________________

08 Kawasaki Nomad 1600

2000 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100 *SOLD*

4 wheels move the body... 2 Wheels move the soul.

"The first ones free.. the next one goes in your mouth." Charlie Sheen
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-27-2011, 01:39 AM   #15
toms03se
Shadow Rider
 
toms03se's Avatar
 
toms03se is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
I finally found time to do it.
After taking it apart, i noticed that there is already 2 holes drilled. One is 1/8" and the other a bit smaller.
I wonder if they did it when they installed pipes and a cobra jet kit at the Honda dealer.

Can somebody confirm what they have on their carb. This is on 2008 C2.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-27-2011, 09:48 AM   #16
satanSpawn
Shadow Rider
 
satanSpawn's Avatar
 
satanSpawn is Offline
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 41
Hmmm, well, I have a factory pro jet kit here and they say that I don't have to drill the slide. I have read other jet kit instructions(dyno jet, cobra) where they say that drilling the slide is optional. I guess it is trial & error. I am going to try the new kit with no drilling, if I am happy I will leave it that way... if not then will be drilling and will let ya know how it goes. Let us know what you do and if it works or not.
__________________
The bike doesn't make the man, it's the man that makes the bike.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-06-2011, 07:11 PM   #17
Pez
If it's worth doing....
 
Pez's Avatar
 
Pez is Offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by toms03se
I finally found time to do it.
After taking it apart, i noticed that there is already 2 holes drilled. One is 1/8" and the other a bit smaller.
I wonder if they did it when they installed pipes and a cobra jet kit at the Honda dealer.

Can somebody confirm what they have on their carb. This is on 2008 C2.
Thanks
The C2 comes from the factory at 1/8". When I jetted my carb, I was gonna drill the slide but it was already 1/8" and I have good throttle response so I didn't muck with it.
__________________



  Reply With Quote

Old 06-13-2011, 12:56 PM   #18
OBGT
Shadow Master
 
OBGT's Avatar
 
OBGT is Offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 206
Will you need to up your mains after drilling? I drilled mine to 1/8" and now at wot it seems a little sluggish....bike ran like a champ with 132/134 before drilling. No sputtering and it's smooth through the rpms at wot, it just doesn't pull like it did before drilling.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-13-2011, 02:48 PM   #19
feellnfroggy600vlx
 
feellnfroggy600vlx is
Posts: n/a
A lot of times with cars (bear with me its what I know) but when u change airflow or similar u gain response and power but against the common senses u lose seat of the pants horsepower.

Example,I added offroad h pipe and long tubes and intake to my 2000 v6 mustang my power increased but I didn't feel that torquey throw u in the seat the little ford v6s are good for. But it dynoed about 5tq and 10 hp overall gain.
  Reply With Quote

Old 06-13-2011, 08:25 PM   #20
mcvierh
Debased Pseudo God
 
mcvierh's Avatar
 
mcvierh is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 7,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBGT
Will you need to up your mains after drilling? I drilled mine to 1/8" and now at wot it seems a little sluggish....bike ran like a champ with 132/134 before drilling. No sputtering and it's smooth through the rpms at wot, it just doesn't pull like it did before drilling.
That tells me you were running rich in the first place and you would want to increase the size of your mains, try 128-132. then again it could be that your rich in your needle.
__________________
"A sin of omission is a sin we should have commited but didn't."

<<< ostentatious isn't it!

Last edited by mcvierh : 06-13-2011 at 08:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 PM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.