| Main Page | Shadow Forums | Motorcycle Links | Shadowrider's Photo Gallery | Today's Posts | New Posts |



DO NOT POST NUDITY OR PORN OR IT WILL BE DELETED! Thank you.

  
Go Back   Shadowriders > Honda Shadow Discussion Forums > Shadow Spirit 750 Modifications
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

200 Comparison
Old 03-02-2005, 10:13 AM   #1
RustyJake
Hostile Poster
 
RustyJake's Avatar
 
RustyJake is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 2,392
200 Comparison

We had some pics up on the old site to show the width difference in the 200 tire to stock. So here's a start on that again.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PDR_0217 resize.JPG (48.2 KB, 9197 views)
File Type: jpg PDR_0223 _resize.JPG (52.1 KB, 9196 views)
__________________
The Spirit Lives
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 12:38 AM   #2
8Punisher8
Shadow Rider
 
8Punisher8's Avatar
 
8Punisher8 is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 16
Hey Rusty, is that 200 on the stock rim or the vtx?
__________________
______________
  Reply With Quote

Just Cant Stop
Old 03-04-2005, 01:03 AM   #3
choppermonkey
Noob
 
choppermonkey is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 10
Just Cant Stop

I just put on my VTX 200 on my Spirit 750....When I put it all together, the rear brake did not work...I noticed that there was a washer on the rear brake linkage that had an arrow on it...Im guessing that I need to line the arrows up...right? What is the easiest way to do this...???? Any info would be appreciated.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 01:09 AM   #4
8Punisher8
Shadow Rider
 
8Punisher8's Avatar
 
8Punisher8 is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by choppermonkey
I just put on my VTX 200 on my Spirit 750....When I put it all together, the rear brake did not work...I noticed that there was a washer on the rear brake linkage that had an arrow on it...Im guessing that I need to line the arrows up...right? What is the easiest way to do this...???? Any info would be appreciated.
Was your rear brake locked up, or just wouldn't work? Sounds like you just might need to adjust the brake rod.
__________________
______________
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 01:20 AM   #5
RustyJake
Hostile Poster
 
RustyJake's Avatar
 
RustyJake is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 2,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8Punisher8
Hey Rusty, is that 200 on the stock rim or the vtx?
The 200 is mounted on an 18" x 5.5" rim from cruiseconcepts
Tire is a 200/50-18
__________________
The Spirit Lives
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 01:24 AM   #6
RustyJake
Hostile Poster
 
RustyJake's Avatar
 
RustyJake is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 2,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by choppermonkey
I just put on my VTX 200 on my Spirit 750....When I put it all together, the rear brake did not work...I noticed that there was a washer on the rear brake linkage that had an arrow on it...Im guessing that I need to line the arrows up...right? What is the easiest way to do this...???? Any info would be appreciated.
If it's the arrow on the tab on the brake rod that you are trying to line up with the arrow on the drum......don't. That's a brake wear indicator. Jack your bike up and back off the tension on the brake till the tire spins freely.
If you've done that and it's still not turning, you will want to pull the wheel off again and make sure that everything is in place on the brakes. If you are using your old hub on a relace, you shouldn't have any issues with the brakes.
__________________
The Spirit Lives
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 09:21 AM   #7
choppermonkey
Noob
 
choppermonkey is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 10
When I put it all together, the rear brake does not engage...its not locked, it just keeps spinning.......when I use the brake pedal, the rod moves, but it seems like its not turning the brake spindle enough....have I missed something? I thought it was all pretty simple to reinstall...........
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 09:54 AM   #8
RustyJake
Hostile Poster
 
RustyJake's Avatar
 
RustyJake is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 2,392
Did you reuse your original hub? If everything is the same, it should work. You are going to need to pull the back wheel off again and inspect the brake assembly to ensure it's moving correctly inside. When it was off, maybe it was dropped or hit somehow and something isn't sitting right.
__________________
The Spirit Lives
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-2005, 10:09 AM   #9
8Punisher8
Shadow Rider
 
8Punisher8's Avatar
 
8Punisher8 is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 16
Did you try to adjust the brake rod?
Attached Images
 
__________________
______________
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-05-2005, 01:43 AM   #10
choppermonkey
Noob
 
choppermonkey is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 10
Thanks yall'!!!!!!!!....I adjusted the brake rod and tightened the slack nut...it works just fine now....thanks for the help.....I just love when a plan comes together...!.....anyway, Im working on getting some current pics....
  Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.