| Main Page | Shadow Forums | Motorcycle Links | Shadowrider's Photo Gallery | Today's Posts | New Posts |



DO NOT POST NUDITY OR PORN OR IT WILL BE DELETED! Thank you.

  
Go Back   Shadowriders > Honda Shadow Discussion Forums > How-To Guides
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Same as
Old 11-26-2010, 12:56 PM   #11
Wizersoft
Mechanized
 
Wizersoft's Avatar
 
Wizersoft is Offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 294
Same as

Quote:
Originally Posted by cody0707
I love this. Definitely interested in doing something like this. Would make working on the bike so much easier. Take that PVC to a machine shop and have them do you something in metal. Then start selling these as a kit. I know I would buy one if the price was right. Cant wait to see the finished product.

So the screen just attaches between the carb and the flange? How does this supply equal amounts of fuel to each cyl?
I am not really interested in making metal ones. There isn't much money in making anything from what i can see. Everyone, including me is usually looking for bargain basement prices.

Yes on the screen. It simply is there as an atomizer. In other words, the fuel hits the screen and becomes seperated into tiny fuel particles. Instead of just a stream of fuel.

How? Well, that is a mouth full to explain. However it is suffice to say, it works well on numerous makes of bikes. The newer C2's i believe have even went (stock) to single carbs.

HD's have been doing it since before any of us were born. LOL

I will be posting pics of the finished results in the future.

What i really like about this mod along with my tank mod, is i will end up with a lot or air.
In other words, i will have a lot or open room between my tank and the heads.

Contributing to "more of a chopper look".
__________________
If it ain't CUSTOM, it's just another slut!
Simple Man, with an un-common plan.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-26-2010, 02:47 PM   #12
JayT
Moderator
 
JayT's Avatar
 
JayT is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,308
Anyone that has done it, Have you seen an increase or decrease in power?
also, throttle response?

As mentioned, many including HD have been doing it for a while, just wondering if the engine or carbs are set up better to accommodate the fuel supply.

Since where I live we'll see snow soon, and I'm having my tins painted, might as well give it a shot...
LMK
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-26-2010, 03:37 PM   #13
cody0707
Shadow Rider
 
cody0707's Avatar
 
cody0707 is Offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 68
I am thinking about doing this as well. I priced 40mm HD carbs on ebay for about $250. I am sure with a little bit of digging around I should be able to find some for cheaper.
__________________


  Reply With Quote

Old 11-26-2010, 07:02 PM   #14
mcvierh
Debased Pseudo God
 
mcvierh's Avatar
 
mcvierh is Offline
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Carolina
Posts: 7,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayT
Anyone that has done it, Have you seen an increase or decrease in power?
also, throttle response?

As mentioned, many including HD have been doing it for a while, just wondering if the engine or carbs are set up better to accommodate the fuel supply.

Since where I live we'll see snow soon, and I'm having my tins painted, might as well give it a shot...
LMK






I was able to lift my front wheel off the ground doing a holeshot in 1st, if I'd have really romped on it I believe I'd have done a full blown wheelie.......can't say what it's done for my HP gain, but I know without a doubt it has picked up HP, hench the wheel coming off the ground (and thats with the 7*rake and 3" fork extensions). I had the BB mod and was getting about 61MPG with a 39tooth rear sprocket, V&H's and 4* at 65mph. Now with the single carb/widow setup and HK pipes I'm getting around 54MPG at 65. Also with the dual carbs the throttle never really had a definite pulse throughout the throttle band, especially when I would throttle down, but now with my single setup the engine has a pulse that satisfies me even when I throttle down, the pulse never changes, sounds like power all the time.......and the faster/more throttle I give her, the pulse just keeps the same beat yet intensifies with increased speed.
__________________
"A sin of omission is a sin we should have commited but didn't."

<<< ostentatious isn't it!
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-26-2010, 07:49 PM   #15
JayT
Moderator
 
JayT's Avatar
 
JayT is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcvierh
I was able to lift my front wheel off the ground doing a holeshot in 1st, if I'd have really romped on it I believe I'd have done a full blown wheelie.......can't say what it's done for my HP gain, but I know without a doubt it has picked up HP, hench the wheel coming off the ground (and thats with the 7*rake and 3" fork extensions). I had the BB mod and was getting about 61MPG with a 39tooth rear sprocket, V&H's and 4* at 65mph. Now with the single carb/widow setup and HK pipes I'm getting around 54MPG at 65. Also with the dual carbs the throttle never really had a definite pulse throughout the throttle band, especially when I would throttle down, but now with my single setup the engine has a pulse that satisfies me even when I throttle down, the pulse never changes, sounds like power all the time.......and the faster/more throttle I give her, the pulse just keeps the same beat yet intensifies with increased speed.
wow!
Def gunna have to look into it!
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2010, 02:25 PM   #16
Dallas
Shadow Rider
 
Dallas's Avatar
 
Dallas is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 88
why not do the same thing only using copper fittings? I would worry about the pvc getting brittle and cracking from the vibrations with age. Plus I think that the copper would look pretty cool.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2010, 02:43 PM   #17
Wizersoft
Mechanized
 
Wizersoft's Avatar
 
Wizersoft is Offline
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 294
It would look great. The challenge is the end must be 41mm or 1-5/8. Otherwise yes, copper would look awesome.
__________________
If it ain't CUSTOM, it's just another slut!
Simple Man, with an un-common plan.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2010, 05:30 PM   #18
Dallas
Shadow Rider
 
Dallas's Avatar
 
Dallas is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 88
just did a quick google search and you can get copper in that size.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2010, 05:40 PM   #19
JayT
Moderator
 
JayT's Avatar
 
JayT is Offline
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,308
there is a member here with a ton of copper, I think his intake was too.... shit.... cant remember who, He was on a lot and then stopped.

His bike was ran over in a parking lot and he re did the whole bike using a shit load of copper....
(damn, cant remember!!)
__________________

  Reply With Quote

Old 11-27-2010, 11:36 PM   #20
billace
Shadow God
 
billace's Avatar
 
billace is Offline
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: soulsbyville, CA
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayT
there is a member here with a ton of copper, I think his intake was too.... shit.... cant remember who, He was on a lot and then stopped.

His bike was ran over in a parking lot and he re did the whole bike using a shit load of copper....
(damn, cant remember!!)
can't remember his name either but his bike was sic looking
  Reply With Quote



Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.


vBulletin skin developed by: eXtremepixels
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.